New York, NY IMG HI 58° LO 56°
Home Yusuf Pathan will run for Lok Sabha on a TMC ticket from Berhampore
World News

Yusuf Pathan will run for Lok Sabha on a TMC ticket from Berhampore

by Reporter - Mar 10 246 Views 0 Comment

In the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, Yusuf Pathan, a former Indian cricket player, will represent the Trinamool Congress from Berhampore in West Bengal.


The TMC has decided to nominate some new faces instead of a few sitting MPs. Thus, former cricket players Pathan and Kirti Azad were on the candidate list that Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee unveiled on Sunday.


Pathan was a spinner and hard-hitter batsman.


In 2021Pathan declared his retirement from all cricket formats.


He was well-known for both his skill as a spinner and his aggressive batting approach.


Between 2007 and 2012, he participated in 22 T20Is and 57 ODIs for India.


He was a team member winning the 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 ODI World Cup.


While Kirti Aazd will run from BardhamanDurgapurYusuf Pathan will run from Behrampore.


Behrampore native Pathan has been selected to run against Congressman Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.


In the 2019 General Elections, Chowdhury emerged victorious in the Berhampore seat, garnering 80,000 votes, despite the party's difficulties in maintaining its relevance in Bengal in the face of a saffron surge.


TMC eliminated sitting MP Nusrat Jahan to pit its former MP, Haji Nurul Islam, against the Basirhat Lok Sabha seat, which includes SandeshkhaliMahua Moitra was expelled from the Lok Sabha, but the TMC has nominated her again for a second term in the Krishnanagar seat.


The party released its slate of candidates for West Bengal's impending Lok Sabha elections. Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee announced at a massive rally at Brigade Parade Grounds in Kolkata that the party will run for all 42 of the state's seats.

0 Comments found

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *