New York, NY IMG HI 58° LO 56°
Home Islamabad United emerged victorious in a thrilling clash against Multan Sultans to secure the PSL trophy

Islamabad United emerged victorious in a thrilling clash against Multan Sultans to secure the PSL trophy


Islamabad United emerged victorious in the thrilling final of PSL Season 9, securing their third championship title by defeating Multan Sultans by two wickets.

In the thrilling showdown at the National Stadium in Karachi, the captain of Multan Sultans, Muhammad Rizwan, won the toss and decided to bat first. With a commendable display of skill, they scored 159 runs despite losing nine wickets within the 20 overs.

The opening partnership of Martin Guptill and Colin Munro for Islamabad United was short-lived, as Khushdal Shah dismissed Munro after he scored 26 runs.

Unfortunately, Agha Salman couldn't provide the much-needed support to Martin Guptill at the crease. After facing just 11 balls, Salman was dismissed for ten runs and had to return to the pavilion.

In a valiant effort, Azam Khan, the batsman in the fifth position, displayed remarkable resilience alongside Martin Guptill, contributing to the team's total of 102 runs. However, their partnership was cut short when Martin Guptill unfortunately ran out after scoring a commendable 50 runs off just 32 balls.

Just moments after Guptill's departure, Azam Khan fell victim to Rizwan's catch off Usama Mir.

In a thrilling turn of events, Faheem Ashraf's departure paved the way for Imad Wasim and Naseem Shah to step up and secure victory on the final ball. Imad Wasim showcased his skills, contributing 19 runs, while Naseem Shah delivered an impressive innings, adding 17 runs to the scoreboard. In a fantastic display of skill, David Wiley, Osama Mir, and Muhammad Ali each managed to dismiss a player.

Usman Khan turned out as the leading scorer for Multan Sultans with an impressive 57 runs. Muhammad Rizwan contributed 26 runs to the team's total, while Khushdil Shah scored 11. 

Yasir Khan and David Wali made valuable contributions with six runs each, and Imad Wasim added five runs to the scoreboard for Islamabad United. Shadab Khan took the wickets of three players.

0 Comments found

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *