New York, NY IMG HI 58° LO 56°
Home IPL Champions Rajasthan wins with Jaiswal's century

IPL Champions Rajasthan wins with Jaiswal's century


Yashasvi Jaiswal showcased his brilliance with an impressive unbeaten 104, propelling Rajasthan Royals to solidify further their position at the top of the IPL table. Their dominant performance resulted in a nine-wicket victory over Mumbai Indians on Monday.


Sandeep Sharma, a medium-pace bowler, delivered an impressive performance by taking 5-18, contributing to the team's efforts in limiting Mumbai to a score of 179-9. Meanwhile, Yuzvendra Chahal achieved a significant milestone by becoming the first player in the history of the Indian Premier League to claim 200 wickets. This remarkable feat occurred during a match held at Rajasthan's home ground in Jaipur.


Jaiswal, a talented left-handed opener, showcased his skills as he guided the team to victory in just 18.4 overs despite the interruption caused by rain.


Jaiswal expressed his satisfaction with the game, emphasizing his focus on watching the ball and executing proper cricketing shots.


"I strive to excel in my endeavours, experiencing both successes and setbacks along the way. I approach each day with a focused mindset."


Rajasthan secured their seventh victory in eight matches, emerging as the champions of the inaugural IPL in 2008 under the leadership of the late Australian legend Shane Warne.


Jaiswal achieved his second century in the IPL, and both came against Mumbai. He displayed an impressive batting performance, hitting nine fours and seven sixes in just 60 balls. Additionally, he formed a partnership of 109 runs with skipper Sanju Samson, who contributed 38 runs.


Sharma won with his first-ever five-wicket haul in T20 cricket, stealing the spotlight from Chahal's impressive performance and earning himself the title of man of the match.


Chahal has been dismissed. With his leg spin, Mohammad Nabi took a catch and bowled out for 23. He received warm embraces from his teammates in celebration of his achievement.


Unfortunately, Chahal conceded 48 runs in just four overs. However, Sharma's performance was remarkable, as he claimed three crucial wickets in the 20th over. His victims included Tilak Varma, who scored an impressive 65 runs, and Tim David, who contributed three runs.

Jos Buttler replaced Chahal as an impact player and wasted no time, hitting two boundaries in the opening over by skipper Hardik Pandya, who celebrated his 100th IPL match.


Pandya has faced significant challenges this season, taking over the captaincy from the experienced Rohit Sharma, only to be disappointed by fans at various venues.


Pandya stated that it is not appropriate to approach the players immediately after the game as they are focused on their professional duties and understand their responsibilities.


"There are valuable lessons to be gleaned from this game and the errors we've committed. We must address these mistakes, correct them, and take measures to prevent their recurrence."


In a stunning display of skill and power, Jaiswal, a left-handed batsman, wasted no time making his mark. He attacked South African bowler Gerald Coetzee, effortlessly smashing a six and two fours to kickstart the chase.


Rajasthan scored 61-0 in just six overs before rain interrupted the game. After a 45-minute delay, the action resumed.


After the break, Piyush Chawla managed to dismiss Buttler for 35. However, Jaiswal remained resolute and, with the support of Samson, effortlessly completed the chase.

0 Comments found

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *